• Navigation

Ochsenstall

Located in the former ox stables, our bar is a popular place to get together with friends before or after dinner – say, for one of our monastic brandies or

At Ochsenstall, you can enjoy fine wines from Kartause Ittingen’s winery but of course we also serve Ittingen Klosterbräu, our delicious beer. And we have a great choice of fine brandies, produced exclusively in Switzerland or at other monasteries in Europe.



The same production rule applies to our cocktails: to add tartness, we use Ittingen Verjus instead of lemon juice. Carlos and Matthias, our barkeepers and masters of their craft, create refreshing drinks using their own recipes. If you prefer beer, there is a wide range of monastic beers to choose from. Let us surprise you with our exceptional list!


The bar is open from Monday to Saturday, from 5pm.
Closed: 15 July–29 July

About Ochsenstall

Situated at the south wall of Kartause Ittingen, the building was erected in the 18th century under prior Anthelmus Entlin and used as stables for oxen and horses by the Carthusian monks. When Victor Fehr purchased Kartause Ittingen in 1867, it became the family’s horse stables. Whilst one of the horse stables is still preserved in its historical form and function, the other stables were converted into craftsman’s workshops over the last four centuries – and into this bar.
The historical walls and the vault were repaired and whitewashed so as to preserve the room’s historical feel.
With its Baroque vault, the subtle lighting as well as the pleasant acoustics and unobtrusive background music, Ochsenstall is a wonderful place to mingle and have a drink.


  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • WhatsApp
  • Email
  • Follow this post

Ochsenstall

Situé dans l'ancienne étable, notre bar est populaire pour avoir un verre avant et après le repas. Sa spécialité? Ses cocktail maison.

A l'Ochsenstall, vous pouvez déguster les fameux vins de la Kartause Ittingen et biensûr nous servons la Ittinger Amber, notre délicieuse bière. Nous avons un large choix d'apéritifs exclusivement produit en Suisse ou dans d'autres monastères en Europe.




La même règle de fabrication s'applique à nos cocktails: pour ajouter de l'acidité, nous utilisons l'Ittingen Verjus à la place du jus de citron. Carlos et Maja, nos barmans et maîtres de leur métier, créent des boissons rafraîchissantes en utilisant leurs propres recettes. Si vous préférez la bière, vous avez le choix parmi une large gamme de bières monastiques. Laissez-nous vous surprendre avec notre carte unique!


Le Bar est ouvert du lundi au samedi, à partir de 17h00.

A propos de Ochsenstall

Situé sur le mur sud de la Kartause Ittingen, son bâtiment a été érigé au XVIIIe siècle sous l'ancien Anthelmus Entlin et utilisé comme écurie pour les bœufs et les chevaux par les moines chartreux. Lorsque Victor Fehr a acheté la Kartause Ittingen en 1867, ce bâtiment est devenu l'écurie de la famille. Alors que l’une des écuries est toujours conservée sous sa forme original, les autres écuries ont été transformées en ateliers d’artisans au cours des quatre derniers siècles - et en bar.
Les murs historiques et la voûte ont été réparés et blanchis à la chaux afin de préserver l'ambiance moastique de la pièce.
Avec sa voûte baroque, son éclairage fin, une acoustique très agréable et la musique de fond discrète, Ochsenstall est un endroit merveilleux pour se mêler et prendre un verre.

  • Restaurant
  • Bar
  • WhatsApp
  • Email
  • S'abonner à ce poste